Print editions are coming soon! Look for Creepy Suite and Ancient Omens in Fall 2023

Click on each title to listen to samples from her compositions:

The Calm Before... (for viola and piano, 2019)

  • Purchase the score here

Budapest 1919  (Three songs for high voice and small ensemble, 2016/2019)

Audio link includes trumpet; Video below clarinet and viola

   • Purchase the score with parts here



revolutionary scarlet (Three character pieces for solo viola, 2015)

  • Purchase the score here

Glimmer (for oboe, clarinet, cello, piano, 2010)


Solo piano works (click titles to listen):

Five to Seven (Toccata) (2023): A lively toccata with shifting ‘aksak’ meters (5/8 and 7/8). Suitable for advanced students whose span only reaches a seventh!

    • Purchase the score here

Whirlwinds (Etude) (2023): Constant swirling quintuplets in unusual scale patterns are set in cross-rhythms with a haunting melody. Challenges the player with unusual subdivisions and phasing patterns within tempo rubato.

    • Purchase the score here

Impromptus (2022): A set of three pieces that explore complex rhythms and lyrical melodies. Texturally simple for the intermediate pianist but rhythmically challenging! •Water Sprites • Bells and Shakers • By Moonlight 

   • Purchase the score here     

Creepy Suite (2019) A set of six short pieces for early intermediate level students

  • Purchase the score here


Ancient Omens (2018) a set of three pieces for intermediate level students: Storm Clouds, Distant Fire, Circling Birds 

  • Purchase the score here


Royal Portraits (2014) a set of four character pieces based on historical figures 

  • Purchase the score here

Lyric Suite (Improvisations for prepared piano, 2008) 

   • From the CD Journeys (click here to preview and purchase)


One of Kathryn's most popular arrangements:

Victory March (1908) by Leyla Saz; arranged for concert band, brass quintet, string quintet and solo treble instrument with piano

   • Purchase the score from

Ancient Omens is also in the works as an arrangement for concert band. 

    • Preview Storm Clouds here

    • Preview Distant Fire here

    • Earth Tremors - coming soon!






~Kathryn will be featured performing her own music to accompany dance by Beth Soll & Company at the Greenwich House Senior Center on June 30 and at the Martha Graham Dance Company, September 24

~New videos of piano works by Kathryn are on the compositions page


Listen to Kathryn