Rhythm and Movement

Kathryn Woodard's research has explored a range of topics related to global piano music, rhythm perception, and music pedagogy.  


Several of her past articles can be found at: www.soniccrossroads.com/research


Her article, "Recovering Disembodied Spirits: Teaching Movement to Musicians," published in the British Journal of Music Education discusses the neuromuscular processes in learning music and the importance of training movement in music lessons. Kathryn draws on her own experiences learning the Alexander Technique and Body Mapping and uses case studies from her own teaching to illustrate concepts. Access the article here


Kathryn has presented movement and body mapping workshops at the following venues:


Guildhall School of Music and Dance, London

University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

University of Music and the Performing Arts, Munich

Texas Christian University

University of Central Oklahoma (Kuleshov Piano Competition)

Temple University Preparatory Department

Philadelphia Music Teachers Association



Additional recent presentations include:


Traversing the 'Devil's Staircase': The Perception and Notation of Folk Rhythms in Piano Music from the Balkans (and Beyond) presented at the 2019 IMS Regional Meeting for the Balkans, Bucharest


Syncopation, Cross-Rhythm and Aksak Meter: A Workshop on Pedagogical Approaches presented at the 2021 Art in Motion Symposium, Munich (Online)


Addressing Inclusion in the Piano Studio: A Perspective on Learning Styles presented at the 8th International Conference on Arts and Humanities (Online)